Home Cricket India won by 9 wickets: India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI T20 highlights

India won by 9 wickets: India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI T20 highlights

Finally, India won by 9 Wickets in India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI T20 Cricket Match on 14th Feb 2016. This is the 3rd T20 Cricket Match between India and Sri Lanka in 2016. Congratulations to Indian Cricket Team and all people of India for this beautiful winning moment. Check here India Vs Sri Lanka T20 Highlights and Winning moments.

Registering a comprehensive win over Sri Lanka, the Indian cricket team walked away victorious from the field on Sunday evening. The three match series that was being played between the neighboring countries fell into he hands of the Indians for chasing a score of a mere 83 runs at the Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam.

India won by 9 wickets: India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI T20:

Shikar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahne pulled through for India remaining unbeaten at 46 runs and 22 runs respectively in just 13.5 overs. India not only won the match but retained its top position in the ICC T20 ranking. This is the second consecutive T20 series that they have won, the first being against Australia.

Sri Lanka crumbled under Indian bowlers

While the batsman kept top form, it was bowler Ravichandran Ashwin who wiped out the Sri Lankans obtaining the best bowling figures for India in T20 internationals. The spin bowler rounded up at four for eight leaving Sri Lanka to make 82 runs which was even lower than the team’s lowest 87 against Australia in 2010.

The wickets fell smooth and fast at Dickwella was stumped by Mohinder Singh Dhoni after being bowled to by Ashwin in the first ball of the first over itself. Dilshan succumbed to an LBW in just the second ball of the first over.

When Ashwin came back for another stint in the third over Dinesh Chandimal was sent packing after he was caught out by Hardik Pandya. The Indian bowlers knocked down wickets in the fifth, sixth, eighth, eleventh, fifteenth and eighteenth overs.

The match had it’s shares of appeals with appeals going up when Dilshan left the field. Similarly a cry went up from the Sri Lankan team when the umpire gave Gunaratne out in the third over. The umpire also sent Senanayake off the field after Dhoni caught a ball bowled by Raina even though it seemed that neither the batsman nor the bowler were sure about the decision.

India swoops over series to take on victory

With a cakewalk in front of them, Indian batsman Dhawan and Rahane sealed the deal with their partnership. By the third over India needed 71 runs to win against their opponents as the opening pair Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Sharma remained steadfast in staying on the field. By the sixth over, Sharma was sent packing by Dushmantha Chameera in an LBW.

By the end of the tenth over the Indians needed 25 runs. In the fifth ball of the fourteenth over India claimed the series with Dhawan and Rahane reaching the 50 partnership mark and nine wickets to spare. The two closed the day’s innings with a resounding four for sweet victory in the series.

With the Indian side batting a number of appeals went up from the Sri Lankan side. In the first over itself a shout went up when the Sri Lankan appealed for an LBW for Dhawan, however, the umpire left the batsman off with a not out.

It must be admitted that this win was a comfortable one for the Indians and that cricket fans hope to see an equally confident team at the Asia Cup and the World T20 Championship.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles


Top 5 Reasons to Watch Sushant Singh Rajput’s M S Dhoni: The Untold Story

The voluminously awaited biopic MS Dhoni : The Untold Story, based on...


10 Rare and Unknown Facts About MS Dhoni | Mahi Struggle Story

10 Rare and Unknown Facts About MS Dhoni: Mahendra Singh Dhoni aka...


World T20 India Vs Pakistan Live Score Updates, Teams, Winner 19 March

World T20 India Vs Pakistan Live Score Updates on 19 March 2015...


India Chances to Win Asia Cup T20 2016 | India Vs Bangladesh Score Updates

India Vs Bangladesh- Today on Asia Cup T20 Final 2016 India and...